Wednesday, July 2, 2014

Experience History through Music: A Review

Diana Waring introduces her Experience History Through Music book and CD combos, and I get to be among the first to tell you about them!

America The Heart of a New Nation
Westward Ho! Heart of the Old West
Musical Memories of Laura Ingalls Wilder

Each book/CD combo costs $18.99 each. If you buy all three in July you can get the set for $50!

Check out this video to get a taste of  history songs you won't be able to forget!  

This is John Standefer on YouTube. He was one of the main studio musicians on the recordings (and one of the four partners who produced the original books/tapes).

America: The Heart of a New Nation - "From the French and Indian War to the first transcontinental railroad, America is a chronological tour of American history through its music. Enjoy the songs and stories of our past that have been shared from generation to generation—songs that make you laugh, make you cry, and make your patriotic spirit soar."  The CD includes:

1. Yankee Doodle 
2. Star Spangled Banner
3. Erie Canal 
4. Oh, Susanna 
5. Sweet Betsy From Pike 
6. All Night, All Day 
7. Old Dan Tucker 
8. Wade In The Water 
9. Johnny Has Gone For A Soldier 
10. When Johnny Comes Marching Home 
11. Shenandoah 
12. Git Along L'il Dogies
13. Drill Ye Tarriers 
14. Polly Wolly Doodle 
15. She'll Be Coming Round The Mountain 
16. Old Joe Clark

Westward Ho! "America's westward expansion is amazingly rich in stories and songs. InWestward Ho!, you will find the pioneer spirit that stirred the hearts of thousands of Americans to leave the safety and comfort of home expressed in folk songs of or about that time. Now you can experience the pioneers' adventures, dangers, joys, sorrows and hopes as you join in and sing along"  

The .CD includes:
1. Apple Picker's Reel
2. Boll Weevil
3. Missionary's Farewell
4. Oh, California
5. Ho! For California
6. San Juan Pig War
7. Chisholm Trail
8. Westward Ho!
9. Home On The Range
10. Little Old Sod Shanty
11. Strawberry Roan
12. Old Settler
13. Gooey Duck
14. Little Cabin in the Cascade Mountains

Laura Ingalls Wilder  - "The well-loved stories of Laura Ingalls Wilder will come to life all over again as you listen to the songs that were a part of life for the Ingalls and thousands of other pioneering families. Written by William Anderson, noted Laura Ingalls Wilder biographer, the book also includes beautiful photos by internationally known Little House photographer, Leslie A. Kelly.

The CD includes:
1. Wait for the Wagon
2. Green Grows the Laurel
3. The Old Chariot
4. Buy a Broom
5. Sweet By and By
6. Rock me to Sleep
7. Buffalo Gals
8. A Railroad Man for Me
9. Beware
10. Pop! Goes the Weasel
11. Oft in the Stilly Night
12. The Girl I left Behind Me
13. My Sabbath Home

I am so excited to share this resource with you!  I truly believe the best history lessons are those that we get to EXPERIENCE in some way.  Diana Waring has long been a favorite of mine - her history lessons have breathed life into our studies, over and over.  Now, she's bringing back a NEW (old ) favorite  Experience History Through Music books and CDs - you need to take a minute to read the story of restoration HERE!   

Each book contains short history lessons, pictures, and sheet music for the songs on the accompanying music CD. The CDs feature approximately 40 – 50 minutes of American Folk music.

 Since we love learning on the go (aka - "van school") these CDs were a great way for us to enjoy listening together - plus, everyone is buckled in, a "captive" audience!

With the rabid (that's what the boys call us...) Little House on the Prairie fans in this house, you can guess which one of the books we liked the most... (Of course, we loved all of them)

 The Laura Ingalls Wilder book is filled with beautiful, black and white photographs taken by Leslie A. Kelly. Mr. Kelly traveled to the home sites of Laura Ingalls Wilder to capture these photos while following his family's interest in this amazing American pioneer girl.  My girls were delighted with these stories.  Last summer we made our own trek to visit Laura's home site at Pepin, WI - home to Little House in the Big Woods.  

Diana Waring is not only the author of the books, but also a female vocalists on the CDs.

 Having been a lifelong fan of all things Little House myself,  I was surprised by how many new and interesting facts and stories that Diana Waring included in this book! 

 My girls loved the actual photographs of Laura and her family as well as the pictures of her home sites.

The music is so well done.  Very professional.  And even though the boys would never admit it - they enjoyed it too!!

This is a perfect complement to your Little House on the Prairie studies, or just a way to enjoy our American heritage!  I guarantee you'll find yourself singing along in no time.  For those of you who are musically inclined - Diana Waring has included sheet music for all the songs in the books as well.  Now, I just have to get my son, Sam to fire up his fiddle for us... :-)

With our history focus for the upcoming year being America - I couldn't wait to preview America: The Heart of a New Nation.  Since we usually focus on history from a worldwide standpoint, I have come to realize we are in need of an in-depth year studying our great country.  Recently,  I realized that my sweet children didn't know much about the Star-Spangled Banner... yikes! 

Out came the CD - and now, we not only know the history behind our national anthem, but we can sing, and/or play along.  So, if you are following a classical 4 year world  history cycle, you may want to pick up this book set to have a fun way of introducing a bit more depth to your American history knowledge.

 I actually enjoyed this CD so much, I listened to it ALL BY MYSELF!  Just for fun!  These CDs are something the entire family will enjoy.

Westward Ho!  is the next musical adventure we are enjoying. With our recent move to Texas, our family has become enamored with horses, cowboys, and "Home on the Range". This book and CD have been the perfect complement as we begin to study the history of our state. But, not only Texas - the wide frontier is waiting for you in this book and CD.  Boll Weevils, the Goldrush, the San Juan Pig War, and more - will forever capture the adventure of the American pioneers in your family's imaginations!

Once again, Diana Waring brings history to life, and makes it unforgettable.  These are an excellent resource that belong on every bookshelf and CD player in America.  Thanks Diana!

Don't miss out on the amazing Giveaway - ending July 4th!  Over $700 in prizes from Diana and her friends - you could be the winner!


No comments:

Post a Comment